Make Profile Private On Facebook

When you post on Facebook, you can choose who will see that post, as well as all future posts. However, exactly what if you want to limit who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do simply that Make Profile Private On Facebook.

You can limit the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, selecting "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and choosing your audience from the popup menu beside the Save button. But that only alters one post, and if you wish to change each and every single Facebook post you've ever made, that would be very tedious.

Make Profile Private On Facebook



Nevertheless, there's a setting that changes all your past posts-- or a minimum of your past "Public" or "Friends of Buddies" posts-- to "Buddies" in one click. To change this setting, gain access to your Facebook account in a web browser and click the down arrow beside the Personal privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the internet browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Privacy" in the list of options left wing.

The "Personal Privacy Settings and Tools" screen display screens. In the "Who can see my stuff?" area, click in the "Limitation the audience for posts you've shared with pals of buddies or Public" area.

The area broadens and shows a description of what this setting does. To restrict all your past posts to Pals, click "Limit Old Posts".

NOTE: The Limitation Old Posts setting automatically limits the audience for all your old posts to Pals. If you desire to limit posts to a custom-made individual or group of people, such as Close Pals, you need to alter the audience for each post independently, one at a time, as we mentioned previously in this article.

As soon as you've clicked "Limit Old Posts", a verification dialog box displays to make sure you truly want to alter the audience for all your old posts without examining them.

Ensure you wish to do this, as you can not undo this action! You would need to alter the audience for each post one at a time if you change your mind later on.

Click "Verify" if you choose to proceed and limit all your old posts to Friends.

Another dialog box shows when the modification is complete. Click "Close".

There are a couple of things to think about when utilizing the Limitation Old Posts setting:.

  • If you have actually shared any posts with custom-made audiences, this setting will not change the audiences for those previous posts. This setting just changes the audience for posts that are shown buddies of pals or the general public.

  • If you've tagged somebody in a past post, that person, as well as other individuals that person consisted of in posts they're tagged in, are still consisted of in the audience for that post after you restrict the audience for all old posts. So, it's smart to beware who you tag in posts.

  • The Limit Old Posts setting just restricts the audience for posts you have actually personally shared. If you were tagged in somebody else's post, only they can restrict who sees that post. You can make it harder for people to tag you in posts by preventing your name from being suggested when your good friends post images that include you.


And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the Make Profile Private On Facebook with your friends.