How to Remove Facebook Account

How To Remove Facebook Account, Last night an audience member at my Cyber Security talk was worried about how she may permanently delete her Facebook Account. I advised her that there is a method but you have to send an unique form to Facebook to do it. "Deactivating" your account just puts it in suspension and can be reactivated at any time, even years later by just logging in once again.

The capability to delete your account is not easily available through the normal settings on your account you need to go to a particular URL to do so.

How To Remove Facebook Account


A note about removal: From Facebook's Data Usage Policy

" Removal.
When you erase an account, it is completely deleted from Facebook. It typically takes about one month to delete an account, however some info might remain in backup copies and logs for approximately 90 days. You should just delete your account if you make sure you never ever wish to reactivate it. You can delete your account at: https://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account.
Discover more at: https://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=356107851084108.

Particular info is had to offer you with services, so we just delete this information after you delete your account. A few of the important things you do on Facebook aren't saved in your account, like posting to a group or sending out someone a message (where your pal may still have a message you sent out, even after you delete your account). That info stays after you delete your account.".

Conclusion: Some of your posts messages and interactions on Facebook will still be maintained by Facebook.

If you simply want to suspend or deactivate your account you can go to your Personal privacy Settings/Security and scroll down to the bottom of the security page to "Deactivate your account" and follow the triggers. This will not erase your account but simply hides the timeline from other users.

Before you erase your account.

Be sure to download your Facebook data ahead of time if you want to retain your posts, images etc

You should then delete as much of your information as possible by going through your activity Log and erasing each entry step by step. There is no shortcuts to doing this, and it depends on how much you have in the activity log as to the length of time this will take. But it will mean that there will be less details about you on Facebook in general. Erase all your photos, defriend, unlike all pages, leave groups, and ensure that you shut any pages down that you own.

This does not mean there will be no trace of you on Facebook. Facebook might have what is being referred to as a "shadow" represent you. Where a buddy has utilized the discover buddy feature in Facebook where Facebook publishes their entire address book into Facebook to use the information to find matches already on Facebook.

Any contact number and e-mail address that are submitted by doing this are retained by Facebook. You may in fact get invites to sign up with Facebook simply because a pal uploaded your e-mail address and phone number whilst trying to find friends they understand on Facebook.

To start the process of permanently erasing your account: Go to this address or search for "Delete my Facebook account" in Facebook Assist Browse.

You need to have 14 days to reactivate your account if you change your mind. After that time your account will be not available for reactivation, to use Facebook you would have to begin a whole new account.


Hopefully this short article How To Remove Facebook Account has given you further insight into the Facebook.