How to Make Your Facebook Account Private

When you publish on Facebook, you can select who will see that post, as well as all future posts. However, what if you wish to limit who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do simply that How To Make Your Facebook Account Private.

You can restrict the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, selecting "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and choosing your audience from the popup menu next to the Save button. However that just alters one post, and if you want to change each and every single Facebook post you've ever made, that would be extremely laborious.

How To Make Your Facebook Account Private



Nevertheless, there's a setting that alters all your past posts-- or at least your past "Public" or "Friends of Friends" posts-- to "Pals" in one click. To alter this setting, gain access to your Facebook account in a web internet browser and click the down arrow beside the Personal privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the internet browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Privacy" in the list of options left wing.

The "Personal Privacy Settings and Tools" screen display screens. In the "Who can see my stuff?" section, click in the "Limitation the audience for posts you have actually shown buddies of pals or Public" area.

The area broadens and shows a description of what this setting does. To limit all your past posts to Friends, click "Limit Old Posts".

KEEP IN MIND: The Limitation Old Posts setting instantly limits the audience for all your old posts to Buddies. If you desire to limit posts to a custom person or group of individuals, such as Close Buddies, you need to alter the audience for each post individually, one at a time, as we discussed earlier in this post.

As soon as you've clicked "Limit Old Posts", a verification dialog box shows to make sure you really wish to alter the audience for all your old posts without evaluating them.

Ensure you want to do this, as you can not reverse this action! You would have to alter the audience for each post one at a time if you alter your mind later on.

Click "Confirm" if you choose to go on and limit all your old posts to Friends.

Another dialog box shows when the change is total. Click "Close".

There are a few things to think about when utilizing the Limitation Old Posts setting:.

  • If you've shared any posts with custom audiences, this setting will not alter the audiences for those past posts. This setting only changes the audience for posts that are shown good friends of pals or the general public.

  • If you've tagged someone in a past post, that person, as well as other individuals that individual consisted of in posts they're tagged in, are still included in the audience for that post after you limit the audience for all old posts. So, it's smart to beware who you tag in posts.

  • The Limit Old Posts setting just restricts the audience for posts you've personally shared. If you were tagged in another person's post, only they can limit who sees that post. You can make it harder for people to tag you in posts by avoiding your name from being suggested when your buddies publish pictures that include you.


And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the How To Make Your Facebook Account Private with your friends.