How to Make My Facebook Private

When you publish on Facebook, you can choose who will see that post, in addition to all future posts. Nevertheless, what if you wish to limit who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do just that How To Make My Facebook Private.

You can restrict the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, choosing "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and choosing your audience from the popup menu next to the Save button. But that just alters one post, and if you desire to alter every single Facebook post you've ever made, that would be very tedious.

How To Make My Facebook Private



Nevertheless, there's a setting that changes all your past posts-- or a minimum of your past "Public" or "Friends of Friends" posts-- to "Pals" in one click. To alter this setting, gain access to your Facebook account in a web internet browser and click the down arrow beside the Privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the internet browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Privacy" in the list of choices left wing.

The "Privacy Settings and Tools" screen displays. In the "Who can see my things?" area, click in the "Limit the audience for posts you have actually shared with pals of good friends or Public" area.

The section expands and displays a description of exactly what this setting does. To restrict all your past posts to Pals, click "Limit Old Posts".

NOTE: The Limit Old Posts setting automatically limits the audience for all your old posts to Friends. If you desire to restrict posts to a customized individual or group of individuals, such as Close Buddies, you must change the audience for each post individually, one at a time, as we mentioned previously in this article.

As soon as you've clicked "Limit Old Posts", a verification dialog box displays to make sure you truly wish to alter the audience for all your old posts without reviewing them.

Make certain you wish to do this, as you can not undo this action! You would need to alter the audience for each post one at a time if you alter your mind later on.

Click "Confirm" if you choose to go ahead and restrict all your old posts to Buddies.

Another dialog box shows when the change is complete. Click "Close".

There are a few things to consider when using the Limitation Old Posts setting:.

  • If you've shared any posts with custom-made audiences, this setting will not alter the audiences for those past posts. This setting just alters the audience for posts that are shared with pals of buddies or the general public.

  • If you've tagged someone in a past post, that person, in addition to other individuals that person included in posts they're tagged in, are still consisted of in the audience for that post after you restrict the audience for all old posts. So, it's smart to beware who you tag in posts.

  • The Limit Old Posts setting just limits the audience for posts you've personally shared. If you were tagged in somebody else's post, only they can restrict who sees that post. You can make it harder for individuals to tag you in posts by preventing your name from being recommended when your friends publish pictures that include you.


And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the How To Make My Facebook Private with your friends.