How Do You Make Your Facebook Private

When you publish on Facebook, you can choose who will see that post, along with all future posts. However, what if you want to restrict who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do just that How Do You Make Your Facebook Private.

You can limit the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, choosing "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and picking your audience from the popup menu beside the Save button. But that just alters one post, and if you wish to alter each Facebook post you have actually ever made, that would be extremely tedious.

How Do You Make Your Facebook Private



Nevertheless, there's a setting that alters all your past posts-- or at least your past "Public" or "Friends of Pals" posts-- to "Buddies" in one click. To alter this setting, gain access to your Facebook account in a web browser and click the down arrow beside the Personal privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the web browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Personal privacy" in the list of alternatives left wing.

The "Privacy Settings and Tools" screen displays. In the "Who can see my things?" area, click in the "Limitation the audience for posts you have actually shown buddies of buddies or Public" section.

The area broadens and shows a description of what this setting does. To restrict all your past posts to Pals, click "Limitation Old Posts".

KEEP IN MIND: The Limit Old Posts setting immediately limits the audience for all your old posts to Buddies. If you wish to restrict posts to a custom person or group of individuals, such as Close Friends, you should alter the audience for each post independently, one at a time, as we mentioned previously in this short article.

When you have actually clicked "Limitation Old Posts", a confirmation dialog box displays to make sure you truly wish to change the audience for all your old posts without evaluating them.

Make sure you want to do this, as you can not reverse this action! You would have to alter the audience for each post one at a time if you change your mind later on.

Click "Verify" if you decide to go ahead and limit all your old posts to Friends.

Another dialog box displays when the modification is complete. Click "Close".

There are a couple of things to consider when using the Limitation Old Posts setting:.

  • If you have actually shared any posts with custom-made audiences, this setting will not alter the audiences for those previous posts. This setting only alters the audience for posts that are shared with good friends of buddies or the general public.

  • If you have actually tagged someone in a past post, that individual, in addition to other individuals that person included in posts they're tagged in, are still included in the audience for that post after you restrict the audience for all old posts. So, it's smart to take care who you tag in posts.

  • The Limitation Old Posts setting just limits the audience for posts you've personally shared. If you were tagged in somebody else's post, only they can limit who sees that post. You can make it harder for people to tag you in posts by preventing your name from being recommended when your buddies publish images that include you.


And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the How Do You Make Your Facebook Private with your friends.