How Do I Remove My Facebook Account

How Do I Remove My Facebook Account, Last night an audience member at my Cyber Security talk was concerned with how she might completely erase her Facebook Account. I recommended her that there is an approach but you need to submit an unique type to Facebook to do it. "Deactivating" your account only puts it in suspension and can be reactivated at any time, even years later by simply visiting once again.

The capability to delete your account is not easily available through the typical settings on your account you need to go to a particular URL to do so.

How Do I Remove My Facebook Account


A note about deletion: From Facebook's Data Usage Policy

" Removal.
When you erase an account, it is completely erased from Facebook. It usually takes about one month to erase an account, however some information may remain in backup copies and logs for up to 90 days. You should only delete your account if you make sure you never wish to reactivate it. You can delete your account at: https://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account.
Discover more at: https://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=356107851084108.

Specific information is required to supply you with services, so we just erase this details after you erase your account. A few of the important things you do on Facebook aren't kept in your account, like posting to a group or sending out somebody a message (where your pal might still have a message you sent out, after you erase your account). That information remains after you delete your account.".

Conclusion: A few of your posts messages and interactions on Facebook will still be retained by Facebook.

If you simply wish to suspend or deactivate your account you can go to your Privacy Settings/Security and scroll down to the bottom of the security page to "Deactivate your account" and follow the prompts. This won't delete your account however just hides the timeline from other users.

Before you delete your account.

Be sure to download your Facebook data in advance if you wish to retain your posts, photos etc

You should then erase as much of your information as possible by going through your activity Log and erasing each entry step by step. There is no faster ways to doing this, and it depends on how much you have in the activity log as to for how long this will take. However it will suggest that there will be less information about you on Facebook in general. Delete all your pictures, defriend, unlike all pages, leave groups, and make certain that you shut any pages down that you own.

This does not imply there will be no trace of you on Facebook. Facebook may have exactly what is being known as a "shadow" account for you. Where a buddy has actually utilized the discover pal feature in Facebook where Facebook publishes their whole address book into Facebook to utilize the information to discover matches currently on Facebook.

Any contact number and e-mail address that are submitted by doing this are kept by Facebook. You might in reality get welcomes to join Facebook purely since a buddy submitted your email address and contact number whilst looking for friends they understand on Facebook.

To begin the process of permanently erasing your account: Go to this address or look for "Delete my Facebook account" in Facebook Help Search.

You should have 2 Week to reactivate your account if you change your mind. After that time your account will be unavailable for reactivation, to utilize Facebook you would have to start a whole new account.


Hopefully this short article How Do I Remove My Facebook Account has given you further insight into the Facebook.