Remove Facebook

Remove Facebook, Last night an audience member at my Cyber Security talk was interested in how she might completely delete her Facebook Account. I encouraged her that there is a technique however you need to send an unique form to Facebook to do it. "Deactivating" your account just puts it in suspension and can be reactivated at any time, even years later by just visiting again.

The ability to erase your account is not readily available through the typical settings on your account you have to go to a specific URL to do so.

Remove Facebook


A note about removal: From Facebook's Data Usage Policy

" Removal.
When you erase an account, it is completely deleted from Facebook. It generally takes about one month to delete an account, however some info might remain in backup copies and logs for up to 90 days. You need to just delete your account if you are sure you never want to reactivate it. You can delete your account at: https://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account.
Find out more at: https://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=356107851084108.

Particular information is needed to supply you with services, so we only delete this information after you erase your account. Some of the things you do on Facebook aren't stored in your account, like posting to a group or sending out someone a message (where your friend may still have a message you sent out, even after you erase your account). That details stays after you delete your account.".

Conclusion: A few of your posts messages and interactions on Facebook will still be maintained by Facebook.

If you simply want to suspend or deactivate your account you can go to your Personal privacy Settings/Security and scroll down to the bottom of the security page to "Deactivate your account" and follow the triggers. This won't erase your account however just conceals the timeline from other users.

Prior to you delete your account.

Make certain to download your Facebook data in advance if you wish to retain your posts, photos and so on

You should then erase as much of your data as possible by going through your activity Log and deleting each entry action by action. There is no faster ways to doing this, and it depends on what does it cost? you have in the activity log as to for how long this will take. But it will mean that there will be less details about you on Facebook overall. Erase all your images, defriend, unlike all pages, leave groups, and ensure that you shut any pages down that you own.

This does not suggest there will be no trace of you on Facebook. Facebook may have exactly what is being referred to as a "shadow" account for you. Where a good friend has utilized the find buddy feature in Facebook where Facebook publishes their whole address book into Facebook to utilize the information to discover matches currently on Facebook.

Any telephone number and e-mail address that are uploaded by doing this are kept by Facebook. You might in reality get invites to join Facebook simply due to the fact that a friend published your email address and contact number whilst searching for buddies they know on Facebook.

To begin the procedure of permanently erasing your account: Go to this address or search for "Erase my Facebook account" in Facebook Assist Search.

You ought to have 14 days to reactivate your account if you change your mind. After that time your account will be unavailable for reactivation, to use Facebook you would need to begin an entire brand-new account.


Hopefully this short article Remove Facebook has given you further insight into the Facebook.