Remove Facebook Account

Remove Facebook Account, Last night an audience member at my Cyber Security talk was worried with how she may permanently erase her Facebook Account. I encouraged her that there is an approach however you need to send an unique type to Facebook to do it. "Shutting off" your account only puts it in suspension and can be reactivated at any time, even years later by merely visiting again.

The ability to erase your account is not easily offered through the regular settings on your account you need to go to a particular URL to do so.

Remove Facebook Account


A note about deletion: From Facebook's Data Use Policy

" Deletion.
When you delete an account, it is completely erased from Facebook. It usually takes about one month to delete an account, but some details might stay in backup copies and logs for up to 90 days. You ought to just delete your account if you are sure you never ever desire to reactivate it. You can delete your account at: https://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account.
Discover more at: https://www.facebook.com/help/?faq=356107851084108.

Specific info is had to provide you with services, so we just erase this info after you delete your account. A few of the things you do on Facebook aren't stored in your account, like posting to a group or sending out somebody a message (where your buddy may still have a message you sent out, even after you delete your account). That information stays after you erase your account.".

Conclusion: Some of your posts messages and interactions on Facebook will still be retained by Facebook.

If you merely wish to suspend or deactivate your account you can go to your Personal privacy Settings/Security and scroll down to the bottom of the security page to "Deactivate your account" and follow the prompts. This won't erase your account but simply hides the timeline from other users.

Prior to you delete your account.

Be sure to download your Facebook data beforehand if you wish to keep your posts, photos etc

You must then erase as much of your data as possible by going through your activity Log and deleting each entry action by action. There is no faster ways to doing this, and it depends upon what does it cost? you have in the activity log as to for how long this will take. But it will imply that there will be less info about you on Facebook in general. Erase all your pictures, defriend, unlike all pages, leave groups, and make certain that you shut any pages down that you own.

This does not suggest there will be no trace of you on Facebook. Facebook may have what is being known as a "shadow" represent you. Where a buddy has utilized the find friend feature in Facebook where Facebook publishes their entire address book into Facebook to use the information to find matches currently on Facebook.

Any contact number and e-mail address that are submitted this way are kept by Facebook. You might in fact get invites to sign up with Facebook purely because a pal published your e-mail address and phone number whilst searching for good friends they understand on Facebook.

To start the procedure of permanently deleting your account: Go to this address or search for "Delete my Facebook account" in Facebook Help Search.

You need to have 2 Week to reactivate your account if you change your mind. After that time your account will be not available for reactivation, to utilize Facebook you would need to start a whole new account.


Hopefully this short article Remove Facebook Account has given you further insight into the Facebook.