How to Set My Facebook Account to Private

When you publish on Facebook, you can select who will see that post, in addition to all future posts. However, what if you desire to restrict who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do simply that How To Set My Facebook Account To Private.

You can limit the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, picking "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and picking your audience from the popup menu beside the Save button. But that just changes one post, and if you desire to change each Facebook post you've ever made, that would be really tedious.

How To Set My Facebook Account To Private



However, there's a setting that alters all your past posts-- or at least your past "Public" or "Friends of Pals" posts-- to "Pals" in one click. To alter this setting, access your Facebook account in a web internet browser and click the down arrow next to the Privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Privacy" in the list of options on the left.

The "Personal Privacy Settings and Tools" screen display screens. In the "Who can see my things?" section, click in the "Limitation the audience for posts you have actually shown good friends of friends or Public" section.

The area expands and displays a description of exactly what this setting does. To limit all your past posts to Friends, click "Limit Old Posts".

NOTE: The Limit Old Posts setting immediately restricts the audience for all your old posts to Pals. If you wish to restrict posts to a custom-made person or group of individuals, such as Close Buddies, you need to change the audience for each post individually, one at a time, as we pointed out earlier in this article.

When you have actually clicked "Limit Old Posts", a verification dialog box displays to make sure you really desire to alter the audience for all your old posts without examining them.

Make sure you wish to do this, as you can not reverse this action! You would have to change the audience for each post one at a time if you alter your mind later on.

Click "Verify" if you choose to proceed and limit all your old posts to Pals.

Another dialog box shows when the modification is complete. Click "Close".

There are a couple of things to think about when utilizing the Limitation Old Posts setting:.

  • If you've shared any posts with custom-made audiences, this setting will not alter the audiences for those past posts. This setting only alters the audience for posts that are shared with pals of buddies or the public.

  • If you have actually tagged somebody in a previous post, that person, in addition to other people that person included in posts they're tagged in, are still consisted of in the audience for that post after you restrict the audience for all old posts. So, it's a good idea to beware who you tag in posts.

  • The Limitation Old Posts setting just limits the audience for posts you've personally shared. If you were tagged in another person's post, just they can limit who sees that post. You can make it harder for people to tag you in posts by preventing your name from being recommended when your friends publish images that include you.


And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the How To Set My Facebook Account To Private with your friends.