How to Set Facebook Private

When you post on Facebook, you can choose who will see that post, in addition to all future posts. Nevertheless, exactly what if you wish to restrict who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do just that How To Set Facebook Private.

You can restrict the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, picking "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and selecting your audience from the popup menu beside the Save button. But that just alters one post, and if you desire to change each and every single Facebook post you've ever made, that would be really tedious.

How To Set Facebook Private



However, there's a setting that alters all your past posts-- or a minimum of your past "Public" or "Pals of Buddies" posts-- to "Pals" in one click. To change this setting, access your Facebook account in a web internet browser and click the down arrow next to the Personal privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the web browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Personal privacy" in the list of choices left wing.

The "Privacy Settings and Tools" screen displays. In the "Who can see my stuff?" area, click in the "Limitation the audience for posts you've shared with good friends of pals or Public" section.

The section broadens and displays a description of what this setting does. To limit all your past posts to Buddies, click "Limitation Old Posts".

NOTE: The Limit Old Posts setting immediately restricts the audience for all your old posts to Buddies. If you wish to restrict posts to a custom-made individual or group of people, such as Close Buddies, you must change the audience for each post individually, one at a time, as we pointed out earlier in this post.

When you have actually clicked "Limitation Old Posts", a confirmation dialog box displays to make sure you truly wish to alter the audience for all your old posts without examining them.

Make certain you wish to do this, as you can not reverse this action! You would need to change the audience for each post one at a time if you change your mind later on.

Click "Validate" if you choose to go ahead and restrict all your old posts to Buddies.

Another dialog box shows when the modification is complete. Click "Close".

There are a couple of things to consider when using the Limit Old Posts setting:.

  • If you've shared any posts with customized audiences, this setting will not change the audiences for those past posts. This setting only alters the audience for posts that are shared with good friends of pals or the public.

  • If you have actually tagged somebody in a previous post, that individual, along with other individuals that individual consisted of in posts they're tagged in, are still included in the audience for that post after you limit the audience for all old posts. So, it's smart to take care who you tag in posts.

  • The Limit Old Posts setting only restricts the audience for posts you've personally shared. If you were tagged in someone else's post, just they can limit who sees that post. You can make it harder for individuals to tag you in posts by preventing your name from being recommended when your friends publish pictures that include you.


And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the How To Set Facebook Private with your friends.