How to Make Your Facebook Private

When you post on Facebook, you can pick who will see that post, in addition to all future posts. Nevertheless, exactly what if you wish to limit who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do just that How To Make Your Facebook Private.

You can restrict the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, picking "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and picking your audience from the popup menu beside the Save button. But that only changes one post, and if you wish to alter each and every single Facebook post you've ever made, that would be extremely tiresome.

How To Make Your Facebook Private



Nevertheless, there's a setting that alters all your past posts-- or a minimum of your past "Public" or "Pals of Pals" posts-- to "Pals" in one click. To change this setting, access your Facebook account in a web browser and click the down arrow beside the Personal privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the web browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Personal privacy" in the list of alternatives on the left.

The "Privacy Settings and Tools" screen display screens. In the "Who can see my things?" area, click in the "Limit the audience for posts you have actually shown pals of good friends or Public" area.

The section expands and shows a description of what this setting does. To restrict all your past posts to Pals, click "Limit Old Posts".

KEEP IN MIND: The Limit Old Posts setting instantly restricts the audience for all your old posts to Friends. If you wish to restrict posts to a custom person or group of individuals, such as Close Buddies, you should change the audience for each post individually, one at a time, as we discussed earlier in this post.

As soon as you have actually clicked "Limit Old Posts", a confirmation dialog box displays to make sure you really wish to change the audience for all your old posts without reviewing them.

Ensure you wish to do this, as you can not undo this action! You would have to alter the audience for each post one at a time if you change your mind later on.

Click "Validate" if you decide to proceed and restrict all your old posts to Buddies.

Another dialog box shows when the change is complete. Click "Close".

There are a few things to think about when utilizing the Limit Old Posts setting:.

  • If you have actually shared any posts with custom audiences, this setting will not change the audiences for those previous posts. This setting only changes the audience for posts that are shared with buddies of pals or the public.

  • If you've tagged somebody in a past post, that individual, along with other individuals that individual included in posts they're tagged in, are still consisted of in the audience for that post after you limit the audience for all old posts. So, it's smart to beware who you tag in posts.

  • The Limit Old Posts setting only limits the audience for posts you have actually personally shared. If you were tagged in somebody else's post, only they can limit who sees that post. You can make it harder for individuals to tag you in posts by preventing your name from being suggested when your buddies post pictures that include you.


And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the How To Make Your Facebook Private with your friends.