How to Make Profile Private On Facebook

When you post on Facebook, you can pick who will see that post, as well as all future posts. Nevertheless, exactly what if you wish to limit who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do simply that How To Make Profile Private On Facebook.

You can limit the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, selecting "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and picking your audience from the popup menu beside the Save button. However that just alters one post, and if you wish to alter every Facebook post you have actually ever made, that would be very laborious.

How To Make Profile Private On Facebook



Nevertheless, there's a setting that changes all your past posts-- or a minimum of your past "Public" or "Buddies of Pals" posts-- to "Friends" in one click. To change this setting, access your Facebook account in a web browser and click the down arrow next to the Privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Privacy" in the list of alternatives left wing.

The "Personal Privacy Settings and Tools" screen displays. In the "Who can see my things?" area, click in the "Limitation the audience for posts you have actually shown buddies of buddies or Public" section.

The area broadens and shows a description of what this setting does. To restrict all your past posts to Friends, click "Limitation Old Posts".

KEEP IN MIND: The Limit Old Posts setting automatically limits the audience for all your old posts to Pals. If you want to limit posts to a custom-made individual or group of individuals, such as Close Buddies, you should change the audience for each post individually, one at a time, as we discussed previously in this post.

Once you've clicked "Limit Old Posts", a confirmation dialog box shows to make sure you truly want to alter the audience for all your old posts without reviewing them.

Ensure you wish to do this, as you can not reverse this action! You would have to change the audience for each post one at a time if you change your mind later.

Click "Validate" if you choose to proceed and limit all your old posts to Friends.

Another dialog box displays when the change is complete. Click "Close".

There are a few things to consider when using the Limitation Old Posts setting:.

  • If you've shared any posts with custom audiences, this setting will not change the audiences for those previous posts. This setting only alters the audience for posts that are shown pals of pals or the public.

  • If you have actually tagged somebody in a past post, that person, as well as other individuals that individual included in posts they're tagged in, are still consisted of in the audience for that post after you limit the audience for all old posts. So, it's wise to be careful who you tag in posts.

  • The Limitation Old Posts setting just restricts the audience for posts you've personally shared. If you were tagged in someone else's post, just they can limit who sees that post. You can make it harder for individuals to tag you in posts by preventing your name from being recommended when your friends post pictures that include you.


And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the How To Make Profile Private On Facebook with your friends.