How to Make My Facebook Completely Private

When you post on Facebook, you can pick who will see that post, along with all future posts. Nevertheless, what if you want to limit who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do just that How To Make My Facebook Completely Private.

You can restrict the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, choosing "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and picking your audience from the popup menu next to the Save button. But that only changes one post, and if you wish to alter each and every single Facebook post you've ever made, that would be extremely tiresome.

How To Make My Facebook Completely Private



Nevertheless, there's a setting that changes all your past posts-- or at least your past "Public" or "Buddies of Buddies" posts-- to "Friends" in one click. To change this setting, gain access to your Facebook account in a web browser and click the down arrow next to the Privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the internet browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Personal privacy" in the list of alternatives left wing.

The "Personal Privacy Settings and Tools" screen displays. In the "Who can see my things?" section, click in the "Limitation the audience for posts you have actually shown pals of pals or Public" section.

The area broadens and displays a description of what this setting does. To restrict all your past posts to Friends, click "Limitation Old Posts".

KEEP IN MIND: The Limitation Old Posts setting immediately restricts the audience for all your old posts to Friends. If you want to limit posts to a custom-made individual or group of individuals, such as Close Pals, you should alter the audience for each post separately, one at a time, as we mentioned earlier in this article.

When you have actually clicked "Limit Old Posts", a verification dialog box shows to make sure you really want to change the audience for all your old posts without evaluating them.

Make sure you desire to do this, as you can not reverse this action! You would need to alter the audience for each post one at a time if you alter your mind later on.

Click "Validate" if you choose to proceed and limit all your old posts to Buddies.

Another dialog box shows when the modification is complete. Click "Close".

There are a couple of things to think about when using the Limitation Old Posts setting:.

  • If you've shared any posts with custom-made audiences, this setting will not alter the audiences for those previous posts. This setting only alters the audience for posts that are shown buddies of buddies or the general public.

  • If you've tagged someone in a past post, that person, in addition to other people that person included in posts they're tagged in, are still consisted of in the audience for that post after you restrict the audience for all old posts. So, it's smart to take care who you tag in posts.

  • The Limit Old Posts setting only limits the audience for posts you have actually personally shared. If you were tagged in another person's post, only they can limit who sees that post. You can make it harder for individuals to tag you in posts by preventing your name from being recommended when your buddies publish images that include you.


And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the How To Make My Facebook Completely Private with your friends.