How to Keep Your Facebook Profile Private

When you publish on Facebook, you can select who will see that post, along with all future posts. However, exactly what if you wish to restrict who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do simply that How To Keep Your Facebook Profile Private.

You can restrict the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, choosing "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and choosing your audience from the popup menu next to the Save button. However that only alters one post, and if you wish to alter each and every single Facebook post you've ever made, that would be really tiresome.

How To Keep Your Facebook Profile Private



Nevertheless, there's a setting that changes all your past posts-- or at least your past "Public" or "Buddies of Friends" posts-- to "Buddies" in one click. To change this setting, access your Facebook account in a web browser and click the down arrow next to the Privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Privacy" in the list of alternatives on the left.

The "Privacy Settings and Tools" screen displays. In the "Who can see my things?" area, click in the "Limitation the audience for posts you've shared with good friends of pals or Public" area.

The area broadens and displays a description of exactly what this setting does. To restrict all your past posts to Buddies, click "Limitation Old Posts".

KEEP IN MIND: The Limit Old Posts setting immediately limits the audience for all your old posts to Buddies. If you desire to restrict posts to a custom-made person or group of people, such as Close Buddies, you should alter the audience for each post separately, one at a time, as we pointed out previously in this article.

As soon as you have actually clicked "Limitation Old Posts", a confirmation dialog box displays to make sure you truly desire to alter the audience for all your old posts without reviewing them.

Make sure you wish to do this, as you can not undo this action! You would have to change the audience for each post one at a time if you alter your mind later on.

Click "Confirm" if you choose to go on and restrict all your old posts to Friends.

Another dialog box displays when the modification is complete. Click "Close".

There are a few things to consider when using the Limitation Old Posts setting:.

  • If you've shared any posts with customized audiences, this setting will not alter the audiences for those past posts. This setting only alters the audience for posts that are shown friends of friends or the general public.

  • If you've tagged someone in a past post, that individual, as well as other people that individual included in posts they're tagged in, are still consisted of in the audience for that post after you limit the audience for all old posts. So, it's smart to take care who you tag in posts.

  • The Limit Old Posts setting only restricts the audience for posts you have actually personally shared. If you were tagged in somebody else's post, only they can limit who sees that post. You can make it harder for people to tag you in posts by preventing your name from being recommended when your pals publish photos that include you.


And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the How To Keep Your Facebook Profile Private with your friends.