How to Keep Facebook Private

When you publish on Facebook, you can pick who will see that post, along with all future posts. However, what if you desire to limit who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do simply that How To Keep Facebook Private.

You can limit the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, selecting "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and choosing your audience from the popup menu next to the Save button. But that just alters one post, and if you desire to change every Facebook post you've ever made, that would be very tedious.

How To Keep Facebook Private



Nevertheless, there's a setting that alters all your past posts-- or a minimum of your past "Public" or "Buddies of Pals" posts-- to "Pals" in one click. To alter this setting, access your Facebook account in a web internet browser and click the down arrow next to the Privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the internet browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Privacy" in the list of options on the left.

The "Privacy Settings and Tools" screen displays. In the "Who can see my things?" area, click in the "Limit the audience for posts you have actually shown good friends of pals or Public" section.

The section broadens and displays a description of exactly what this setting does. To limit all your past posts to Buddies, click "Limit Old Posts".

NOTE: The Limit Old Posts setting instantly limits the audience for all your old posts to Pals. If you want to limit posts to a customized person or group of individuals, such as Close Buddies, you must change the audience for each post independently, one at a time, as we discussed earlier in this article.

As soon as you've clicked "Limit Old Posts", a confirmation dialog box displays to make sure you really desire to change the audience for all your old posts without reviewing them.

Ensure you wish to do this, as you can not undo this action! You would need to alter the audience for each post one at a time if you alter your mind later on.

Click "Confirm" if you choose to go ahead and restrict all your old posts to Buddies.

Another dialog box shows when the change is total. Click "Close".

There are a couple of things to think about when using the Limit Old Posts setting:.

  • If you have actually shared any posts with custom-made audiences, this setting will not change the audiences for those previous posts. This setting only changes the audience for posts that are shared with buddies of friends or the general public.

  • If you have actually tagged somebody in a past post, that person, as well as other individuals that individual included in posts they're tagged in, are still consisted of in the audience for that post after you limit the audience for all old posts. So, it's smart to beware who you tag in posts.

  • The Limitation Old Posts setting only limits the audience for posts you have actually personally shared. If you were tagged in somebody else's post, just they can limit who sees that post. You can make it harder for people to tag you in posts by avoiding your name from being recommended when your buddies post images that include you.


And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the How To Keep Facebook Private with your friends.