How Do I Make My Facebook Profile Private

When you publish on Facebook, you can select who will see that post, in addition to all future posts. However, what if you want to limit who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do simply that How Do I Make My Facebook Profile Private.

You can limit the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, selecting "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and selecting your audience from the popup menu next to the Save button. However that just alters one post, and if you wish to alter each Facebook post you've ever made, that would be really tiresome.

How Do I Make My Facebook Profile Private



However, there's a setting that alters all your past posts-- or a minimum of your past "Public" or "Friends of Buddies" posts-- to "Buddies" in one click. To change this setting, gain access to your Facebook account in a web browser and click the down arrow next to the Personal privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the web browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Personal privacy" in the list of options on the left.

The "Privacy Settings and Tools" screen displays. In the "Who can see my stuff?" section, click in the "Limitation the audience for posts you have actually shown buddies of good friends or Public" section.

The area broadens and shows a description of exactly what this setting does. To limit all your past posts to Friends, click "Limit Old Posts".

NOTE: The Limit Old Posts setting automatically restricts the audience for all your old posts to Buddies. If you wish to limit posts to a customized individual or group of people, such as Close Buddies, you should alter the audience for each post separately, one at a time, as we mentioned previously in this post.

As soon as you have actually clicked "Limit Old Posts", a confirmation dialog box shows to make sure you truly want to change the audience for all your old posts without evaluating them.

Make certain you want to do this, as you can not reverse this action! You would need to alter the audience for each post one at a time if you alter your mind later.

Click "Confirm" if you decide to proceed and limit all your old posts to Buddies.

Another dialog box shows when the change is complete. Click "Close".

There are a couple of things to think about when utilizing the Limit Old Posts setting:.

  • If you've shared any posts with custom-made audiences, this setting will not change the audiences for those previous posts. This setting only changes the audience for posts that are shared with buddies of friends or the public.

  • If you've tagged somebody in a past post, that individual, along with other people that person consisted of in posts they're tagged in, are still included in the audience for that post after you restrict the audience for all old posts. So, it's smart to be mindful who you tag in posts.

  • The Limitation Old Posts setting just restricts the audience for posts you've personally shared. If you were tagged in someone else's post, only they can restrict who sees that post. You can make it harder for people to tag you in posts by avoiding your name from being suggested when your pals publish images that include you.


And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the How Do I Make My Facebook Profile Private with your friends.