How Do I Make My Facebook Private

When you post on Facebook, you can choose who will see that post, along with all future posts. However, what if you wish to restrict who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do simply that How Do I Make My Facebook Private.

You can limit the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, choosing "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and selecting your audience from the popup menu beside the Save button. But that only changes one post, and if you wish to change every Facebook post you have actually ever made, that would be really tedious.

How Do I Make My Facebook Private



Nevertheless, there's a setting that changes all your past posts-- or at least your past "Public" or "Buddies of Pals" posts-- to "Friends" in one click. To alter this setting, access your Facebook account in a web internet browser and click the down arrow beside the Privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Personal privacy" in the list of options on the left.

The "Privacy Settings and Tools" screen displays. In the "Who can see my stuff?" section, click in the "Limit the audience for posts you have actually shown friends of good friends or Public" section.

The section broadens and displays a description of exactly what this setting does. To restrict all your past posts to Pals, click "Limitation Old Posts".

KEEP IN MIND: The Limitation Old Posts setting instantly limits the audience for all your old posts to Buddies. If you desire to limit posts to a custom person or group of people, such as Close Friends, you should alter the audience for each post independently, one at a time, as we mentioned earlier in this short article.

When you've clicked "Limit Old Posts", a confirmation dialog box displays to make sure you really desire to change the audience for all your old posts without evaluating them.

Make sure you wish to do this, as you can not reverse this action! You would need to change the audience for each post one at a time if you change your mind later.

Click "Validate" if you choose to go on and restrict all your old posts to Pals.

Another dialog box shows when the change is complete. Click "Close".

There are a couple of things to think about when utilizing the Limitation Old Posts setting:.

  • If you've shared any posts with customized audiences, this setting will not change the audiences for those previous posts. This setting just changes the audience for posts that are shown pals of pals or the general public.

  • If you've tagged somebody in a previous post, that individual, as well as other individuals that individual included in posts they're tagged in, are still consisted of in the audience for that post after you limit the audience for all old posts. So, it's smart to take care who you tag in posts.

  • The Limit Old Posts setting just restricts the audience for posts you have actually personally shared. If you were tagged in somebody else's post, only they can restrict who sees that post. You can make it harder for individuals to tag you in posts by avoiding your name from being suggested when your pals publish pictures that include you.


And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the How Do I Make My Facebook Private with your friends.