How Can I Make My Facebook Private

When you post on Facebook, you can select who will see that post, as well as all future posts. However, what if you want to restrict who can see all the posts you've made in the past? Facebook has a setting to do simply that How Can I Make My Facebook Private.

You can restrict the audience for any of the posts on your timeline by clicking the down arrow in the upper-right corner of a post, picking "Edit Post" from the dropdown menu, and selecting your audience from the popup menu next to the Save button. But that just alters one post, and if you desire to change each and every single Facebook post you have actually ever made, that would be very tiresome.

How Can I Make My Facebook Private



However, there's a setting that alters all your past posts-- or a minimum of your past "Public" or "Buddies of Friends" posts-- to "Buddies" in one click. To alter this setting, gain access to your Facebook account in a web internet browser and click the down arrow beside the Privacy Shortcuts button on the toolbar in the upper-right corner of the browser window. Click "Settings" on the drop-down menu.

On the Settings page, click "Personal privacy" in the list of choices on the left.

The "Personal Privacy Settings and Tools" screen displays. In the "Who can see my things?" area, click in the "Limitation the audience for posts you have actually shown pals of pals or Public" section.

The area broadens and displays a description of what this setting does. To limit all your past posts to Buddies, click "Limit Old Posts".

NOTE: The Limitation Old Posts setting instantly limits the audience for all your old posts to Buddies. If you want to limit posts to a customized individual or group of individuals, such as Close Pals, you should change the audience for each post independently, one at a time, as we pointed out earlier in this short article.

As soon as you have actually clicked "Limit Old Posts", a verification dialog box shows to make sure you really desire to change the audience for all your old posts without reviewing them.

Ensure you wish to do this, as you can not reverse this action! You would have to alter the audience for each post one at a time if you alter your mind later on.

Click "Verify" if you decide to go on and limit all your old posts to Friends.

Another dialog box shows when the modification is total. Click "Close".

There are a few things to think about when using the Limit Old Posts setting:.

  • If you've shared any posts with custom audiences, this setting will not change the audiences for those past posts. This setting just alters the audience for posts that are shown friends of friends or the public.

  • If you have actually tagged someone in a past post, that individual, along with other individuals that individual included in posts they're tagged in, are still included in the audience for that post after you restrict the audience for all old posts. So, it's a good idea to beware who you tag in posts.

  • The Limitation Old Posts setting only limits the audience for posts you've personally shared. If you were tagged in another person's post, only they can limit who sees that post. You can make it harder for individuals to tag you in posts by avoiding your name from being suggested when your buddies post images that include you.


And one more thing please don’t forget to share this awesome trick to use the How Can I Make My Facebook Private with your friends.